3 Reasons NOT To Find Your “Why” (And One Time When It Makes Sense)

Cathy Goodwin
3 min readMar 25, 2023

Another piece of content creation advice you can safely ignore.

Modified from image by Kari Shea on Unsplash.

"Find your why," they said. "People don't buy you. They buy your why."

Frankly, I've never gotten this. I buy competence and skill. I buy problem-solving.

I don't know the "why" of anyone I work with...designer, tax preparer, financial advisor, house cleaner, even my veterinarian. They're competent and easy to work with.

Clients sometimes tell me they're frustrated. They've been encouraged to "find your way" and they're stuck.

"What do I say when someone asks me why?" they ask.

"Change the subject," I usually suggest. "Tell a success story instead."

3 reasons not to "find your why"

(1) We don’t have a why…that we know of.

Many of us fell into a career or business. We were rewarded. We enjoyed what we were doing. Maybe we liked our associates or we gloried in the benefits. Positive reinforcement generates momentum.

Eventually, it was time to move on...after 3 months, 3 years, or a lifetime. Some people just get tired of doing the same thing. Sometimes the environment changes: if you were in…

--

--

Cathy Goodwin

Create a compelling marketing message that attracts your ideal clients through your unique selling story. http://cathygoodwin.com