How stories help explain what you do

Cathy Goodwin
2 min readJun 10, 2024
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash.

You promise your clients a desirable outcome. But how do you explain what you offer?

For instance, let’s say you’ve got a program promising to help each client “become an engaging speaker.”

Their backstories go like this:

  • “Last time I spoke to an audience, the whole experience was a disaster. I froze. I forgot what I was supposed to say. I dropped my notes. There’s no way I’m ever going to do this again.”
  • “I’m an introvert. I was born this way. Ever since I was a child, I avoided people.”
  • “I’ve worked with other speech coaches. They’ve tried to help but I’m still far from becoming a speaker”

So how do you reach them?

Use success stories based on their backstories. For instance:

“John’s last attempt at speaking ended in disaster. As he stumbled to remember what he wanted to say, his notes fell to the floor. When he slunk off the stage, he could sense the audience felt sorry for him. It was worse than being booed.

“John swore he’d never touch a microphone again. But after just three sessions with our proven system, John learned three techniques that would help him stay focused and actually enjoy the experience.

--

--

Cathy Goodwin

Create a compelling marketing message that attracts your ideal clients through your unique selling story. http://cathygoodwin.com