How To Tell A Business Story That Inspires Action

Cathy Goodwin
5 min readOct 24, 2020
Photo by Vincentiu Solomon on Unsplash.

Do you have an answer to the question, “What’s your story?”

Not necessarily a candidate for a film script — just a story that helps your listener understand more of what you do?

Why settle for a response of, “That’s interesting,” when you might aim for a response of, “I want what they’re having!”

The difference depends on not just what you tell, but how you set up your story.

Making A Good Origin Story Even Better

Nathalie, a business owner, submitted this story for one of my storytelling courses. She gave me permission to share.

“My friend invited me to accompany her to some start-up events. I noticed that most founders struggle a lot with their financials, spending too many endless nights with Excel. As a controller, I was surprised, since this is the most insightful and interesting part of a business.

“‘There must be a way to help other business owners appreciate the power of sales statistics,’” I thought to myself.

“With the help of my newly learned web development skills, I developed software that automatically creates sales charts and dashboards after entering sales data.

--

--

Cathy Goodwin

Create a compelling marketing message that attracts your ideal clients through your unique selling story. http://cathygoodwin.com